The Redwoods: An Artist’s Statement

Let’s all close our eyes and pretend for a second that I’m a “real artist” showcasing my photography at a gallery. Here’s my short Artist’s Statement:

“In the Redwoods of Northern California, what struck me about the groves of these ancient giants was not their undeniable massiveness. It was the textures of the forest. These trees grew to such grand portions that the details of bark were enlarged and now their beauty engrossed me. There were valleys and peaks and lovely color changes from one ridge to another. There were plants and fungi that created completely different environments on different ridges on the same tree. I was Alice and I had drunk the potion that shrunk me, and now I was seeing all the textures that went unnoticed.”

Ninety percent of these pictures are of Coastal Redwood tree bark from the two of the big three Redwoods parks- Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park, Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park. The third being Redwoods National Park with the Avenue of the Giants. The trees in Prairie Creek captivated me so much that I spent three hours doing a short two mile nature loop taking most of these pictures. I wish I had enough power to capture the trees along the James Irvine Trail, because they had even more personality.

And, of course, these trees are massive!

2 thoughts on “The Redwoods: An Artist’s Statement

Leave a comment